Upcoming Tours
Call Us: +27 21 863 6400

South Africa included on Visa free list to Indonesia

Indonesia will soon allow tourists from an additional 30 countries to visit without a visa.

The move comes as Jakarta seeks to boost a faltering economy, which is growing at five-year lows, and to attract more foreign income as the rupiah rapidly weakens.

The country currently only allows tourists from 15 countries, mostly in Southeast Asia, to visit without a visa. People from a number of other countries can buy a tourist visa on arrival.

The 30 countries added to the list are mainly European, but also include China and several others in Asia, the United States, and some nations in the Middle East and Africa (Including SA), Tourism Minister Arief Yahya said.